It’s a New Year, Charlie Brown

30 12 2013

IMG_0369“In the book of life the answers aren’t in the back.” Wise words, Charlie Brown, though if the answers were there and were good ones, I might be more inclined to welcome in the New Year. Honestly, for a while I didn’t know if I should look forward to 2014 or dread it.

For anyone who doesn’t know me well, I am an optimist by nature. It’s a good trait, one which has gotten me through a lot of the difficult years of my life. The reality is, a lot of life is hard, painful, impossible. But I prefer to temper those parts with the view that there is always, always something good to come out of the struggles. My parents were a great example of people who lived by that mantra. Life didn’t treat them kindly those first few years after WWII as they moved to a new country and worked hard to make ends meet. But I grew up with singing in the house, an ever present faith in God, and a feeling of security and well-being that never wavered. They never let my brother and me know how poor we were.

My natural optimism tells me to look forward, never forgetting, always learning. So I’ll not listen to Charlie Brown’s dire prediction: “I’m afraid to be happy, because whenever I get too happy something bad always happens.”
You’re wrong, Charlie Brown. I’m not listening to you. Forward is the only way to go, the choice is in the direction we take, either the hopeful path or the dismal one.

I choose hope. I choose optimism. I choose to be happy. I choose to embrace this coming year and all the good things it will hold. I am so very richly blessed by my children, grandchildren, extended family and loving friends. And most of all by God. After all, He’s the one in charge, and I know He has only my good in mind.

Bring on 2014. And shape up, Charlie Brown. You need a good dose of happy.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 12 2013
Lynn

Good for you!

26 09 2014
glass window company

When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.

Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
Thanks!

27 09 2014
Terri DeVries

I honestly don’t know why you are getting so many copies per comment. Unfortunately, I’m not techie enough to be able to figure this out. So sorry!

Leave a Reply

