Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow

24 02 2012

What a gorgeous day today. I woke to tree branches draped with white, fluffy flakes and snow gently drifting down and covering the lawn like an eider-down quilt. A cup of coffee, my laptop and comfy slippers. . . what could be better?

My writing group gave me some solid feedback last night on a segment of my novel, The Last Good Summer, suggestions I’m eager to work into the pages I shared.

And then I have two great books waiting to be read–Nacht Und Nebel (Night and Fog) by Floris Bakels, which is a first-hand account of an Auschwitz survivor, and Night by Elie Weisel, also autobiographical about survival in Auschwitsz. Heavy reading material? Absolutely. But I’m finding myself drawn into the realities more and more after writing Such Secrets, a novel set in World War II. Most of us are so far removed from that war and the atrocities enacted by the Nazi regime that we look at it as purely history, a story, rather than something evil and unspeakable that happened to real people by real people. Everyone should acquaint themselves with this part of history, if only to be sure we never repeat what happened then.

So: coffee, laptop, comfy slippers and two excellent books. My day couldn’t get any better.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

