Great books

23 02 2011

I’ve been doing a lot of reading the past few months, but most of it has been historical background for World War II. This past weekend I read a historical fiction book written by one of my favorite authors, Anita Shreve. The book is called Resistance. It’s set in 1940 in Belgium and is about an American pilot shot down as he is flying over Belgium on a mission. I could not put the book down. It was so well written (as are all her books, by the way) and I was reading every second I could just to finish the story. I hope someday my book will have that effect on those who read it.

If you enjoy historical fiction and can  handle fairly graphic details of war, this is the book for you. Again I am awed by the courage and perseverance of those who lived through the awful days of World War II. I can only wish to be half as brave and strong. 

My next reading project, also set during the war, is Sarah’s Key, which I understand is an excellent book as well. I can’t wait to start it!

Now, back to writing!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2011
Kelly Stanley

I LOVED Sarah’s Key, and I really liked Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. And it’s been out for a while, but I hope you’ve read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which is set right after WWII. Staying with the World War II era, Laura Hillenbrand’s Unbroken and Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum are supposed to be good, but I haven’t read them. Another recent favorite book is Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas…. No WONDER I’m not getting much writing done. I’ve been reading too much (altho I’m not sure there is such a thing as too much reading!).

23 02 2011
Terri DeVries

Thanks for the suggestions, Kelly. I actually own the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society book, I just haven’t read it yet. I know what you mean about reading a lot–it’s what we writers do, though. If you love to write, it stands to reason that you also love to read.

Leave a Reply

