Summer? What summer?

12 08 2010

We’ve had a crazy couple of months, between our trips to Washington and one to Colorado, and then my conference sandwiched in between…I feel as if I need to become reacquainted with my house and yard! But it’s been a great time with wonderful experiences.

While in Colorado our son took us to the Canyonlands National Park near Moab Utah. What an incredible place. We camped there overnight, saw the sights, took a death-defying trip in his four-wheel drive truck down a one-lane dirt/rocky/pot-hole filled road going (at times) straight down and around hairpin curves and switchbacks that could make a grown man cry…and it was fantastic. I think I held my breath most of the 31 miles (yes, I said 31 miles!!!) down that crazy canyon road all the way to Moab, but it was worth every second I spent clutching the seatbelt. I’ll be posting some of the pictures.

From there we took a drive through the Arches National Park, another amazing place. Needless to say, my camera was working overtime the whole trip. Thanks to Marc for a great time!

canyon road

Canyonland road

If you look carefully, you can see the road near the top of the picture, then at the bottom is where we eventually ended up, after lots of hairy switchbacks. I’m pretty sure we were at a 90 degree angle on several of those hairpins. Yikes! On the plus side–no traffic problems!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2010
Linda

Looks like quite an adventure!! You are certainly a brave woman and I can almost picture Mel crying!! Can’t wait to see the rest of the pictures ~ Good Job!

12 08 2010
Linda

For those who are wondering about my silly remark about Mel, on another picture Terri had said that the ride was almost enough to make a grown man cry. No offense intended, Mel!! Love you guys and glad that you are having an awesome summer. So well deserved.

Leave a Reply

