chapbook-making

30 10 2009

I have been working on a major project this week. All the children’s poetry in this blog plus several others are being collected so that I can put together a chapbook. For those of you who are not familiar with the concept, it is a “cheap book” to assemble and self-publish.

Once all the pages have been printed and the book is pagenated the way you want it, you can bind it with cord, ribbon, or staples. I have done a chapbook of some of my other poetry in the past and had Kinkos print it, but this time I am going to try doing it all at home. The illustrations that go with the poetry are from the free clip art available on my Office Word program, and I was really pleased with the art I found. My next step will be to get some good paper, a cardstock cover, and then I’ll be ready to print.

The book will be one of the many items for sale at the Christmas show Irene Fridsma and I are doing at her house the first week of December
(1-5). I will probably sell them for $7.50 or $8.00.

The challenge (and I do love a challenge!) is to get the poetry and artwork centered on each page so that it looks somewhat professional.
I’ll keep you all posted!

                            

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

